Home | the barbudaful community | barbudaful politics

Barbuda is part of a three-island state with Antigua and Redonda. After independence in 1981 Antigua and Barbuda remained a monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as the head of state and her representative in the state is the Governor General.

Parliament, situated in St Johns, Antigua, consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, and Representatives (or MPs) are elected by popular vote from 16 constituencies in Antigua, and one in Barbuda. A general election must be held within five years of the previous one. Senators are appointed by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister and the leader of the opposition. The Prime Minister heads a Cabinet of ministers who administer the state and all legislation is introduced in the House of Representatives and then passed to the Senate for review and assent – this form of government is modelled on the British parliamentary system.

There are two political parties on Barbuda – the Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) and the Barbuda People’s Movement (BPM)

Central Government is based in Antigua but Barbuda has its own local government – the Barbuda Councilestablished in 1976 by the Barbuda Local Government Act. It is an 11-member body consisting of nine directly elected and two ex officio (Barbuda’s House and Senate representatives in the national Parliament) members who serve four-year terms.

Gaston Browne is the current Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda. Antigua and Barbuda is a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

Trevor Walker is the current MP for Barbuda, there is only one representative for Barbuda in a house of seventeen MP’s.