Barbuda Council admininistrative building

The Barbuda Council

The Barbuda Council runs the internal affairs of the island on a day-to-day basis in the administration buildings – pictured here before Hurricane Irma, the Jinnery on the left and the Millenium building on the right.

The Council was established in 1976 by the Barbuda Local Government Act, which created a council of 11 members. Nine members are elected by the registered voters of Barbuda, with the Parliamentary Representative (MP) currently Trevor Walker and a Senator, who is nominated by the Council, as ex-officio members. The Councillors serve for four years with elections held every two years in March when four seats and five seats becoming vacant at alternate polls. The Barbuda Council administers and regulates agriculture, forestry, public health, public utilities and roads as exclusive powers, and raises and collects revenue to meet expenses incurred in the performance of its functions.

The Barbuda Council has five committees: Finance. Works and General Purposes; Health, Social Welfare and Disaster; Tourism, Sports, Culture and Youth Affairs; and Agriculture, Land, Forestry, Fisheries, Coastal/Marine Protection.

For General Information – read the People’s Progress report on facebook.

Secretary of Barbuda Council – Mr Paul Nedd Tel: +1 268 780 2544

MP for Barbuda – The Barbuda MP, Mr Trevor Walker, sits as an ex-officio member of the Council and serves as it’s Vice Chairperson.

The following are BPM Councillors:

Chair of Council  – Ms Calsye Beazer Joseph

Tourism & Culture  – Ms Jackie Frank

Works – Mr Wayde Burton

Health – Ms Nadia George

Agriculture – Mr Devon Warner

Sports and Youth affairs – Sharima Myers

Utilities – Kendra Beazer

There are two ALP Councillors: Senator Knacyntar Nedd and Mackeisha Desuza.

Customs – Mr Mathew John

Immigration – Ms Hildena Gore

The Council has a facebook page and contributes this and other information to

Their full postal address is:  Barbuda Council, Codrington, Barbuda. via St John’s, Antigua and Barbuda, West Indies.