ALP candidates announced for March 2013 Council election

At the Primary held at Jam City on Sunday night, the Antigua Labour Party candidates for Barbuda Council elections were selected; with Bernie Newton securing the highest number of votes (82), followed by Calvin Gore (75), David Shaw (67), Tyrone Beazer (63), and Elvis Burton (57).

Elections are held every two years on Barbuda with candidates voting each time for four and five members alternatively, ensuring that there is always a quorum to carry on the duties of the Council. Currently the ALP has four members serving on the Council while the ruling BPM has seven, including the MP (Trevor Walker) and the Senator for Barbuda (Mackenzie Frank).

The Barbuda Council has been controlled by the BPM since the first election was held around 35 years ago. The ALP gained control for a brief period in 1996.

Leave a Reply